BMW and Figure report that Figure 02 accumulated more than 1,250 operating hours and handled more than 90,000 parts in BMW's Spartanburg plant.
HU-R001 / Deployment evidence
Figure 02 × BMW
BMW and Figure report substantial Figure 02 factory runtime and output, while the scheduled-time, downtime and intervention data needed to calculate availability remain unpublished.
Cite this recordHU-R001 · rev. 11 · Public Data v1.4.0
HumanoidUptime. “Figure 02 × BMW” (HU-R001), rev. 11, evidence current to 2026-09-04. HumanoidUptime Public Data v1.4.0 (2026). https://humanoiduptime.com/id/HU-R001
- Persistent identity
- HU-R001 · revision 11
- Current record page
- https://humanoiduptime.com/records/figure-02-bmw/
- Evidence cutoff
- 2026-09-04
- Dataset release
- v1.4.0 · snapshot 2026-09-04
- Immutable dataset
- Versioned JSON
- JSON SHA-256
0e174ef9f5d6de3f140478daa628032f4610761ba3794ec124bd310b33ec9705
What this means
The short version, without reliability jargon
The sources do not say how much time the robots were expected to work, how long they were unavailable or how often people had to step in.
The figures show substantial factory activity, but they do not reveal what percentage of planned working time the robots were actually available.
Evidence verdict
Established. Claimed. Unknown.
- Measured availability
- Human intervention rate
- MTBF and MTTR
- Exact fleet size in the reviewed results
What the evidence says
BMW corroborates 1,250 operating hours and 90,000 parts, but those totals have no scheduled-time, downtime or fleet denominator. BMW describes ten months of production support while Figure calls the broader program an 11-month deployment; the sources do not reconcile those scopes. Failure counts, intervention rate, MTBF, MTTR and measured availability remain unpublished.
01 / Reliability fields
What is known—and missing
02 / Claims and evidence
What each source supports
1,250+ operating hours
The cumulative operating-hour total is corroborated by BMW Group and Figure AI. Neither source publishes scheduled robot time, downtime, the unit-level distribution or the exact fleet denominator.
Metric interpretationDifferent metric — not availability
- Source wording
- operating hours · 1,250+ hours
- Tested against
- Technical availability
- Normalized result
- Not calculated
Cumulative operating hours describe recorded runtime. Without scheduled time and technical downtime, they do not show what share of required production time the robots were available.
- Observation windowBMW and Figure publish different ten- and eleven-month boundaries
- Scheduled operating timeA nominal shift pattern is known, but the scheduled robot-hours are not
- Technical downtimeNot disclosed
- Exclusion rulesMaintenance, charging, pauses and external waits are not defined
90,000+ sheet-metal parts; contribution to 30,000+ BMW X3 vehicles
Output is corroborated, but attempts, rejected cycles, retries and human-assisted cycles are not separated.
Sources: [3] [2]10-hour shifts, Monday through Friday
A nominal shift pattern is disclosed, but neither source states that every robot was scheduled for every shift or publishes downtime; availability cannot be derived.
Sources: [3] [2]BMW reports ten months; Figure describes an 11-month deployment
BMW ties the production contribution to ten months. Figure describes an 11-month deployment, says full deployment launched within ten months and separately cites six months of daily runtime. The public sources do not define a single common start date or explain the scope difference.
Sources: [3] [2] [4]“Minimal hardware failures”; forearm identified as top hardware failure point
Qualitative manufacturer statement without counts, severity, repair time or denominator.
Sources: [2]Every intervention was logged
The existence of logs is disclosed; the number and definition of interventions are not.
Sources: [2]Production task described as autonomous; autonomous-time share not published
BMW confirms the trial and production task, but the autonomy-specific wording in the 2024 operator release is attributable to Figure. Figure later defines human pauses or resets as an intervention KPI. Neither party publishes the proportion of runtime that was autonomous, supervised, paused or under recovery.
Sources: [1] [2]03 / Evidence over time
How the public record changed
This is a history of public knowledge, not proof that robot performance changed on these dates. Earlier states were reconstructed later from dated sources; the reconstruction date remains visible.
A multi-week factory trial becomes public
BMW confirmed that Figure 02 had inserted sheet-metal parts during a trial lasting several weeks. It published no operating hours, output count, downtime, failure count or intervention count, and said no Figure robots remained at the plant after the trial.
- Autonomy modeAutonomous execution claimed; share unknown
Reconstruction basis and limits
Reconstructed from BMW Group's dated trial release using only information public in that source.
- BMW described a trial lasting several weeks in a real body-shop process.
- Figure 02 inserted sheet-metal parts into fixtures for chassis assembly.
- BMW stated that no Figure robots remained at the plant and gave no timetable for a return.
- The autonomy wording was attributable to Figure, not a quantified BMW measurement.
- No denominator allowed a reliability or success rate to be calculated.
Quantified runtime and output appear
Figure reported 1,250+ operating hours, 90,000+ parts and an 11-month deployment. The manufacturer also said every intervention was logged and described minimal hardware failures, but published neither count nor rate.
- Runtime hoursNot disclosed →1,250+ hours
- Human interventionsNot disclosed →Logged, count not published
- Task outputTask described; volume not disclosed →90,000+ parts
- Autonomy modeAutonomous execution claimed; share unknown →Described; share unknown
Reconstruction basis and limits
Reconstructed from the 2024 BMW trial release and Figure's dated final Figure 02 deployment report.
- Figure reported 1,250+ operating hours and 90,000+ parts loaded.
- Figure described 10-hour shifts from Monday through Friday.
- Figure disclosed that interventions were logged and identified the forearm as the top hardware failure point.
- The new totals were manufacturer-reported at this point in the source chronology.
- Scheduled time, downtime, fleet size, intervention count, MTBF and MTTR remained unpublished.
BMW corroborates the headline totals
BMW subsequently confirmed approximately 1,250 operating hours, more than 90,000 components and ten months of production support. Runtime and output moved from manufacturer-only reporting to operator corroboration; the autonomy description remained attributable to Figure and core reliability denominators remained absent.
- Runtime hours1,250+ hours
- Task output90,000+ parts
- Autonomy modeDescribed; share unknown →Claimed; share unknown
Reconstruction basis and limits
Correction to HU-R001-H003 after separating the BMW-hosted operator account from autonomy wording attributable to Figure. The runtime and output corroboration is unchanged.
- BMW confirmed around 1,250 operating hours and more than 90,000 moved components.
- BMW tied the result to ten months and ten-hour weekday shifts.
- Operator corroboration strengthened the provenance of the runtime and output totals; autonomy remained manufacturer-reported.
- The source still did not publish scheduled robot time, downtime, fleet size or intervention frequency.
- The ten-month BMW scope and Figure's earlier 11-month deployment description were not reconciled.
Current public evidence state
BMW corroborates 1,250 operating hours and 90,000 parts, but those totals have no scheduled-time, downtime or fleet denominator. BMW describes ten months of production support while Figure calls the broader program an 11-month deployment; the sources do not reconcile those scopes. Failure counts, intervention rate, MTBF, MTTR and measured availability remain unpublished.
- Human interventionsLogged, count not published →Logged, not published
04 / Deployment timeline
What happened, and when
-
BMW reports a multi-week production trial
Figure 02 inserts sheet-metal parts into fixtures in the Spartanburg body shop.
[1] -
Figure publishes final deployment results
Figure 02 returns to headquarters as part of the fleet-wide retirement of the model.
[2] -
BMW announces successor project
Figure 03 begins a new logistics sequencing project at the same plant.
[4]
05 / Sources
Trace every finding
-
Source 1Operator statement
Successful test of humanoid robots at BMW Group Plant Spartanburg ↗
BMW Group · Published 2024-08-06 · Accessed 2026-09-04
Preserved source · HU-SA-R001-001Article body, opening trial description and manufacturer-attributed paragraphs under ‘Figure 02 embodies the latest technological advances in robotics’.SHA-256 db9d522f6a8621bd9cc38ecc1f31296a92cd4ee14bf7c6f4694d45ff53758293Captured 2026-09-04T14:10:49Z · text/html;charset=UTF-8 · 67,461 bytes · Internal verification copy, not publicly redistributed -
Source 2Manufacturer statement
F.02 Contributed to the Production of 30,000 Cars at BMW ↗
Figure AI · Published 2025-11-19 · Accessed 2026-09-04
Preserved source · HU-SA-R001-002Sections ‘BMW Deployment Highlights’, ‘Deployment Overview’, ‘Hardware Reliability and Learnings’ and ‘Conclusion’.SHA-256 dfbeaf3837633177203af46006691f93200bd1a9a846109b6428c28f0e6fb014Captured 2026-09-04T14:08:31Z · text/html; charset=utf-8 · 42,412 bytes · Internal verification copy, not publicly redistributed -
Source 3Operator statement
BMW Group first to deploy humanoid robots in production in Germany ↗
BMW Group · Published 2026-02-27 · Accessed 2026-09-04
Preserved source · HU-SA-R001-003PDF page 4, section ‘Successful pilot at BMW Group Plant Spartanburg provides key insights for use of humanoid robots in production’.SHA-256 65fb8dac3cc6547282725d3cb99d68973103a0a0ebede69ab53c1cbce522972aCaptured 2026-09-04T14:10:50Z · application/pdf · 265,977 bytes · Internal verification copy, not publicly redistributed -
Source 4Operator statement
BMW Group advances the use of Physical AI in production with Figure 03 project in Spartanburg ↗
BMW Group · Published 2026-06-25 · Accessed 2026-09-04
Preserved source · HU-SA-R001-004Article body, paragraphs describing the completed Figure 02 pilot and the following ‘Next step with the next-generation Figure 03 robot’ section.SHA-256 22170432f02d5012a0da55580b07b8848ebc90296e0887b673e84d16448e20beCaptured 2026-09-04T14:10:51Z · text/html;charset=UTF-8 · 70,085 bytes · Internal verification copy, not publicly redistributed